KAOS Architects take Estonian Association of Architects’ Annual Award


The Annual Award 2018 of the Estonian Association of Architects was presented to KAOS Architects for the Pilgrims’ House in Vastseliina, completed in May 2018. The authors of the Pilgrims’ House were Toomas Adrikorn, Margit Argus, Margit Aule, Kaiko Kerdmann and Laura Ojala. Our thanks go to everyone who contributed their time and efforts to this building.

The laureate of the annual award was decided by the renowned Finnish architect Sami Rintala, who described the Pilgrims’ House as follows: ‘The building feels very integral by how it appears in the landscape when it is approached and by the view of the surroundings as seen from the inside. From the location to the details, from the clothes racks to the technological solutions of the exhibition, all elements seem to work together nicely. It is a successful abstraction of the medieval setting, without being romantic, or at least overly romantic. We can see what is new and what represents the old in a smart and balanced way. It is a building that left a very positive impression.’

Terje Ugandi